Skip to Content

Press Releases

Pennsylvania state icon

Houlahan Votes NO on House Republican’s Israel-Only National Security Supplemental

  • capitol
  • Speaker Johnson

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, Representative Chrissy Houlahan (D-PA) voted against H.R. 7217, the House Republican’s latest Israel funding bill, citing concerns about its failure to address pressing national security concerns.


“I have always supported Israel’s right to defend itself and will continue to vote accordingly,” said Houlahan. “But I cannot support a politically motivated piece of legislation that falls short on a host of related national security issues, including the needs of Ukraine, Taiwan, innocent Palestinians, and our southern border.”


Houlahan continued: “As a Member of Congress, it’s my responsibility to think not only about Pennsylvanians in Berks and Chester Counties but also the rest of the country and, in fact, the world. I carefully consider each vote, thinking about the message we are sending to the world – our allies and adversaries alike. In such moments, we must send a crystal-clear message to those who wish to do us harm that our nation is united in defense of democracies in the Middle East, Ukraine, and the Indo-Pacific.”


“Of course, this vote was not easy. I know Israel needs further support as they seek to root out Hamas’ entrenched control in Gaza. That’s why I’m hopeful that cooler, more bipartisan heads will prevail, and I will soon be able to vote on a supplemental package that supports our ally, Israel, as well as Ukraine, Taiwan, and the many community groups and law enforcement agencies along our southern border.”


Houlahan is an Air Force veteran, an engineer, a serial entrepreneur, an educator, and a nonprofit leader. She represents Pennsylvania’s 6th Congressional District, which encompasses Chester County and southern Berks County. She serves on the House Armed Services Committee and the House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence. She is the recipient of the U.S. Chamber of Commerce’s Abraham Lincoln Leadership for America Award which “recognizes members who demonstrate the bipartisan leadership and constructive governing necessary to move our country forward” and the Congressional Management Foundation’s 2022 Democracy Award for best Constituent Services in Congress.