Skip to Content

Press Releases

Pennsylvania state icon

Houlahan Issues Statement on Mayorkas Impeachment

  • Houlahan at southern border

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, Representative Chrissy Houlahan (D-PA) issued the following statement:


"It's hard to find the right words to accurately convey my profound disappointment and anger at tonight's impeachment vote," said Houlahan. "This vote was a perfect reflection of the brazen dysfunction of the Republican-led House when it comes to immigration reform and border security. Voting a second time on a previously failed impeachment attempt is asinine. Even more insulting, Speaker Johnson discarded months of negotiations and rejected a comprehensive 380-page bill before even reading it, clearly at the behest of the former President."


 "The Senate's bipartisan agreement would address critical issues in our immigration system and displays a desire to prioritize the well-being and security of our nation over partisan politics. It is incomprehensible that, at a time when bipartisan collaboration is essential for our country's prosperity, the House Republicans have chosen to dismiss a carefully crafted compromise outright, dooming its fate."


 "If House Republicans were genuinely committed to achieving meaningful immigration reform and enhancing border security, they would be at the negotiating table right now. Instead, we are taking toothless impeachment votes devised to score cheap and destructive political points. It is high time for our elected officials to rise above divisive politics and work toward constructive solutions that address our nation's pressing challenges. That has always been my position. The American people deserve a government committed to bipartisanship, compromise, and genuine progress for the betterment of our society."


Houlahan is an Air Force veteran, an engineer, a serial entrepreneur, an educator, and a nonprofit leader. She represents Pennsylvania’s 6th Congressional District, which encompasses Chester County and southern Berks County. She serves on the House Armed Services Committee and the House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence. She is the recipient of the U.S. Chamber of Commerce’s Abraham Lincoln Leadership for America Award which “recognizes members who demonstrate the bipartisan leadership and constructive governing necessary to move our country forward” and the Congressional Management Foundation’s 2022 Democracy Award for best Constituent Services in Congress.