Skip to Content

Press Releases

Pennsylvania state icon

After Partisan Measures Added to Previously Bipartisan Defense Bill, Houlahan Votes NO

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, Representative Chrissy Houlahan (D-PA), an Air Force veteran and the Ranking Member of the House Armed Services Committee’s military Quality of Life Panel, voted against the National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA) after a series of extreme, partisan amendments were added.

“It’s enormously disappointing to see the bipartisan bill that we passed out of committee 57-1 become overrun with partisan amendments that restrict reproductive freedoms, attack LGBTQ+ service members, leave our NATO allies behind, ignore the threat of climate change, and more. Our military families deserve better than this political theatre,” said Houlahan. “Make no mistake – as a third-generation veteran I am proud to stand in strong support of our military. For months, my Republican and Democratic colleagues and I on the Quality of Life Panel worked together to propose 31 recommendations to improve compensation, housing, child care, health care, and spouse employment. I’m thrilled all 31 recommendations made it in the House-passed bill.”

Houlahan added: “While I’m enormously disappointed the bill has taken a partisan turn, I have full faith and confidence that the final bill will be stripped of these ridiculous and harmful amendments. For those who are of a certain age, we remember our Schoolhouse Rock and that this legislative process is far from over. It’s now up to the Senate to pass their own bill, and I look forward to negotiating with my Senate counterparts on a final, truly bipartisan bill to send to President Joe Biden for signature.”

Read the 31 Quality of Life Panel recommendations and a comprehensive list of Houlahan’s efforts here.

Houlahan is an Air Force veteran, an engineer, a serial entrepreneur, an educator, and a nonprofit leader. She represents Pennsylvania’s 6th Congressional District, which encompasses Chester County and southern Berks County. She serves on the House Armed Services Committee and the House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence. She is the recipient of the U.S. Chamber of Commerce’s Abraham Lincoln Leadership for America Award which “recognizes members who demonstrate the bipartisan leadership and constructive governing necessary to move our country forward” and the Congressional Management Foundation’s 2022 Democracy Award for best Constituent Services in Congress.